Barley with veggies

f9ab18cc55b911e2ab9022000a9f14bb_7.jpg

This is the story of a barley who wanted to be a soup. If fact, it wanted to be the Mushroom-Barley Soup from @cyberpenguin. As much as I’m excited to find a fellow cooking flightless bird, I messed it all up. So the water ended up evaporating. No soup, just boiled barley with veggies.

Tasted great though. I guess that’s the beauty of cooking, mistakes become discoveries, and I’ve discovered a different dish to enjoy.

Barley with mushrooms, carrots, courgette, split peas and chickpeas
Ingredients
– A teaspoon of olive oil
– Leek
– Mushrooms (don’t need to be organic)
– Carrots
– Courgettes
– Organic wholemeal barley
– Dried split peas
– Chickpeas (I boil them in bulk then freeze them. So they are ready when I need some)

Instructions
Cut, sauté and boil. As always I’m a mess with proportions.

One thought on “Barley with veggies

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday ~ 20th to 26th Jan | Yes mama, I'm eating well

Leave a Reply

