Recipe review: Roasted Cabbage with Lemon (Kalyn’s Kitchen)

“If you lived on cabbage, you would not be obliged to flatter the powerful” – Diogenes of Sinope

Following this week menu, yesterday I did this recipe I saved 28 weeks ago on Pinterest through John and Roxanne McLain. Apparently, the original one comes from Eat Repeat, although my favorite is the more detailed adaptation from Kalyn’s Kitchen.

I’ve done it now for a pair of times and it really gives cabbage a different twist, although I never get to take it from the over at the right time: either too early or too late. I’ll keep on trying, because it’s yummy, fast and easy.

You’ll need:

  • Cabbage
  • Lemon
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & black pepper

The idea is to cut every cabbage in eight pieces, but I was cooking just for me, so I only did half. Then place them in an oven tray.

For the juice I squeezed half a lemon and I confess it was too much, much less would do, but I did like the over-lemony citric taste. Placed together with two spoons of olive oil (I’m trying to control my fat intake, but of course more oil means more taste), fresh ground pepper and salt. I mixed it with the same spoon as I used for the salt, call me lazy, but if I use a whisk that’s a thing more to clean later. Then left it in the oven for 15 minutes but burned it. And tried it again, but I think I took them too soon.

Anyway even burned or semi-raw this was good. I can’t wait to try again and see if I get it right!

4 thoughts on “Recipe review: Roasted Cabbage with Lemon (Kalyn’s Kitchen)

    • And not only as a side dish, as a vegetarian, I just do more of it, slice some bread and there you go, a main dish🙂
      Indeed thank you again for sharing Kalyn!

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday ~ November 12nd to 18th | Yes mama, I'm eating well

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday ~ 24 to 30th November | Yes mama, I'm eating well

Leave a Reply

