Recipe review: Sicilian Spaghetti with Pan-Roasted Cauliflower (Herbivoracious)

Today I wanted to do something with cauliflower and pasta, and fund this recipe of Sicilian Spaghetti with Pan-Roasted Cauliflower from herbivoracious. So I gave it a hit.

Unfortunately, the results have not been as good as expected. I have to confess it’s not the recipe’s fault, because I did not follow the instructions. I used short pasta instead of long and cut the cauliflower into smaller pieces so everything would mix better. And since I didn’t have fennel, used tyme and chives instead.

But my biggest mistake, was to use a tiny piece of pineapple, not orange zest, because that’s the closer to sweet and citric I had at home. I should have known better, I am a mediterranean, and mediterranian cuisine does not mix sweet and spicy. So you either do raisins or you do pepper & chile, but never both.

Finally, if you are to do this dish, I would recommend you either not to use garlic the way described, it burns before the cauliflower is done, or to boil the cauliflower more, and just give it a little final go at the pan.

I had to use my secret magic to rescue the dish, this is, soy cream. So in the end was not that bad, but the experience was overall disappointing.

2 thoughts on “Recipe review: Sicilian Spaghetti with Pan-Roasted Cauliflower (Herbivoracious)

  1. Pingback: Penne with Pan-Roasted Cauliflower - Weightloss Plans

  2. Pingback: Penne with Pan-Roasted Cauliflower | pagina rosalinn receta

Leave a Reply

